Lincoln vs Cadillac Forums Do it yourself car repair

Thank you for visiting Lincoln vs Cadillac Forums

You have reached our archive. Click Here to visit our main website.


Scam Alert

LSC SS
July 31st, 2004, 08:47 AM
This guy seems to be targeting Lincoln Owners, he got me a couple months back and now got George.

http://www.lincolnsonline.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic&f=2&t=005049

Sifrino3
July 31st, 2004, 01:51 PM
That Sucks!

hottweelz
July 31st, 2004, 02:09 PM
Does he have an IP Address, any forum mods log his IP? Get me his IP, thats all I have to say. :ttiwwp:

Joeychgo
July 31st, 2004, 02:41 PM
do we have an IP on this guy?

raVeneyes
July 31st, 2004, 07:01 PM
do we have an IP on this guy?

If anyone has recieved an e-mail from this guy, I can tell you what his IP is.

LSC SS
July 31st, 2004, 07:14 PM
i did get an email from him but I believe he had to change his IP (was earthlink) due to some "technical difficulties" he experienced soon after he scammed me. I will find out if the other guys have his current IP info

JoshMcMadMac
August 1st, 2004, 09:18 AM
do we have an IP on this guy?
Like was said, he changed IP's. Which really sucks. I did the best I could to hound him down, but there wasn't much I could do by the time we found out he was scamming. :( We do have his address though, and possibly phone number. But he told every buyer a different first name. We don't know if he is Don, Doug, Craig, or something altogether different.

raVeneyes
August 1st, 2004, 11:08 AM
Like was said, he changed IP's. Which really sucks. I did the best I could to hound him down, but there wasn't much I could do by the time we found out he was scamming. :( We do have his address though, and possibly phone number. But he told every buyer a different first name. We don't know if he is Don, Doug, Craig, or something altogether different.

Well if anyone still has his email address we can try to get his IP by sending an email that has a photo in it.

LSC SS
August 1st, 2004, 06:20 PM
here is the most recent address that he is using : markvllguy@verizon.net

codewize
August 1st, 2004, 11:08 PM
Joey. There should be some pretty extensive logging somewhere on this server or in the BBS software itself. Ask your ISP for help if you need too. If you have logs I'll be happy to take a look at them for you.

Also, I can contact Verizon and get the skinny on this username markvllguy@verizon.net. I do this for a living and would be glad to help out the board. Just give me the word and I'll start tracking this guy.

raVeneyes, mail headers are a bad place to get IP address' from when doing forensics because it's so easy to spoof mail.

do we have an IP on this guy?

codewize
August 1st, 2004, 11:52 PM
I guess the real question is, were any laws broken. If not then there is no point complaining. Was anyone cheated or robbed? Was anything hacked? Stolen? Did you pay him for something you didn't receive? If anyone has good information please don't post in in the forum. Mail it to me directly.

LSC SS
August 2nd, 2004, 12:00 AM
Was anyone cheated or robbed? Did you pay him for something you didn't receive? .


Yep, 3 of us that I know of.

Check your PM's

raVeneyes
August 2nd, 2004, 10:56 AM
raVeneyes, mail headers are a bad place to get IP address' from when doing forensics because it's so easy to spoof mail.

Right, but I was taling about sending an email with an image that needs to be pulled off the web server. It requires him opening the email, but that's all, and there's no way to fake it. It's an old spammer trick, that we could use to our advantage.

I know how easy email headders are to spoof dude, I was ISP tech support from 1998-2003. Been there, done that, got the t-shirts already...

codewize
August 2nd, 2004, 09:42 PM
Got it. I apologize. It's just that I deal with so many people think they're tech savvy and aren't. Please forgive me.


Right, but I was taling about sending an email with an image that needs to be pulled off the web server. It requires him opening the email, but that's all, and there's no way to fake it. It's an old spammer trick, that we could use to our advantage.

I know how easy email headders are to spoof dude, I was ISP tech support from 1998-2003. Been there, done that, got the t-shirts already...

CaptainZilog
August 3rd, 2004, 02:14 AM
The ol' 'web beacon' trick. Just make it a 1x1 GIF and the rest is history.

KD00LS
April 14th, 2005, 10:23 PM
i'm still 17 tell me where he lives and ill handle that s.o.b :F

mespock
April 15th, 2005, 10:01 AM
Lol

Joeychgo
April 15th, 2005, 11:51 AM
Holy revived thread Batman! 9 months old!

Libro de autoayuda:Loans:Credit Cards:Insurance:Best Buy Prepaid Cell Phone

EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum